Saturday, January 8, 2011

Let it snow...?

Well that's what they're saying anyway! The weathermen around here LIVE for January and February. They single-handedly control the rushes on Walmart and empty shelves of bread at Kroger...And they LOVE it! Today the biggest story in news was the tragic shooting in Tuscon..only in central AR would this take a backseat to the possible winter weather on it's way tomorrow. Now in the past, I have not been a fan of winter weather. It's cold, it's messy, the roads are terrible and until I had a baby, I still had to show up for work!! But now, I think I'd like a little snow, even ice! For one, I think it would be fun to see the boys playing in it, but for two, it would give me a hand around the house b/c John's work gets closed at the sight of the first snowflake!
The second year that I was living here was the WORST. Now you may already know, I work for "the man". The faceless, heartless, unsympathetic man. On this particular year, Christmas and New Years both fell on Saturdays and so we did not get a day off for vacation and due to company wide blackouts, I had to work as usual on Dec 24th.
I came home to my humble (rat hole) apartment on the evening on the 23rd to fire trucks and utility vehicles. I lived on the 2nd floor, and the apartment above me and one over had pipes bust. So water is gushing EVERYwhere and as a side note it's about 20 degrees outside with no hopes of rising for days. The apartment next to me, below me and the one next to that one were all flooded. This was also a wake up call to me that I should have renter's insurance. Which I never got. The poor guy next to me got his door kicked in by the firemen and all they did was leave him a note that said "kicked in door"....DUH! I think when your apartment is full of water, your door frame is mangled and your threshold is missing you can piece together that your door was kicked in...So that guy knocks on my door at like 10 pm asking to use the phone b/c as it would turn out, he is also legally blind and can't drive so he has to have someone come get him, scary for the SWF!
Anyhow, I wake up the next morning and the parking lot was an ice skating rink. And it's snowing. I legitimately tried to get out of the parking lot of these apartments, that had "Valley" in the name, but that just wasn't happening. So I go back in and start to ponder the idea of spending Christmas alone in the apt....It was heartbreaking. I mean, to stay here, completely alone. Boyfriend had been taken to the airport days earlier, I assumed no one in the city would be able to drive to come get me and I would just sit and eat cereal for days until the weather turned...After a couple hours I tried getting out again and after about a half an hour of spinning my wheels up different (uphill) side streets trying to get to the road, I just sat in my car and cried. I called my dad, who gave me some driving tips, then I cried some more. There were several other fellow tenants doing the same thing and a neighbor drove by me, giving me a beckoning wave to go the way he was going. So I did, and we both got out!!! I hit the main road, got out to the highway, and set the cruise on 70! I have literally never been happier to leave home!
All that being said, if we get snow, we are going to stay right here, and take lots of pictures! I'm definitely not alone anymore :)

No comments:

Post a Comment