Thursday, March 29, 2012

Allllllll day.

The mind of a child.  

It's taught me so much about the purity and simpleness I think God desires from us.  To be content with just the basics, to love with your whole self and to know that complete security comes from your caretaker.

Several weeks ago Will came up with the question "But when is she going to leave?  How is she going to go away?" in reference to the arrival of his new baby sister (in less than 3 wks now!!).  I was disappointed, we've been talking about her, preparing her room, I guess I never made it clear to his little 3 yr old mind that she would be living with us for the next 18 years, give or take.

So we went on and talked about how families operate and how she would be staying with us her "whole life" just like Will.  That once you have a brother or sister, you have them forever.  Since then, when Will is in a really content situation, and I think trying to express to me his feelings, he'll say "Mommy, I gonna stay with you allllllll day!"  He stretches out the "all" in the cutest way.  The first time he told me that, I almost cried when I realized what he was trying to get across.  It's the most heart-felt thing he's ever come up with on his own.

Sometimes he elaborates and includes daddy, or he'll reverse it and say "you gonna stay with me" all day.  To him, a day is a long time.  The fact that he can verbalize, using his own free will, that he wants to spend it with me, makes my heart want to bust.  I love that kid.  I know the day will come when he doesn't want to stay with me, but for now, that is a lifetime away.

Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Some Questions

I have a new favorite blog to follow, and just because it's fun, I'm using a bit of today's naptime to answer some questions she posted instead of doing the zillion other things I should be doing.

Oh, and I'm also "buttercreaming" everything in sight.  I found some in the back of my fridge (5-6 wks old, that's not too sketchy for an 8 months pregnant lady to be messing with, right??)

Here's the list:
1. Why won’t Christina Aguilera just cover it up already?

My theory: clinging to her youth, trying to get some positive press, low self esteem??  But that's what I say about all "immodest dressers".

2. If Dirk Nowitzki asked you to play him in a game of basketball, would you jump at the chance or decline to prevent eventual humiliation?

I would say, lets see who can score 3 baskets.  No need to play to 20 or whatever they play to when it's 1 on 1.  I'm not stupid, I can't even make a shot when no one is blocking me!  But it would be interesting to get a feel for his super human skills in person!!  Same reason that I would take on Michael Phelps in a swim meet.  Or when people ask me what Olympic Sport I would compete in if I HAD to choose one, I always say "Long jump.  On skis." 

3. Do you think dogs know the difference between male and female humans?

Absolutely they do. 

4. If everyone in the world agreed to shave their heads, would you be happy or upset that you would be expected to do the same?

That's a tough one.  It would be so liberating to have one less thing to mess with each day.  And I don't like being "off trend"....So I guess I'm in.  Call me a lemming.  But hey, it grows back so whatever.  

5. Are you getting enough fiber? Are you??

Uhhhhh....what I don't get in fiber, I make up for in miralax.  Hey, I'm pregnant!!!  I have a person sitting on my gi tract...

6. Do you feel that your own sex or the opposite sex has more advantages in our day and age?

Depends on where you're needing the advantage.  Career, def males.  Sad but true, I've seen it happen time and time and time again.  In other areas, say, at the oil change place, I got a free car wash, an upgrade to premium service and about a million apologies when the manager saw that I pulled my own car around to the back.  Even though a month earlier they insisted my husband do the same thing.  Also being pregnant gets you a lot of perks.   Now this is all in the South, too, where I firmly believe chivalry will not die.

7. If the world voted to deem weeds as “beautiful,” like flowers and trees, would you be happy or upset?

SO happy!!  I'm sick of paying for a lawn service!!  It's all green people!!! 

8. If Facebook and Twitter suddenly went away, how would this impact you? In other words, how engrained or ungrained are they in your life? Would you suddenly have very few friends, or the exact same number as before?

Real friends, same.  Source of information on my 5th grade crush...greatly diminished :(

9. Which stage of the mourning process are you in regarding Oprah’s exit from her TV show? Be honest.

I can honestly say I've never watched a full episode...could not care less. 


10. If someone fist-bumped you, would you a) fist-bump them back, b) ask why that person is such an awful punch thrower, or c) tell them it’s probably better to keep their hands to themselves at all times?

A. Unless it was from my Nanny or something.  But I'm really not the type of person who attracts a bump.  

11. I believe there are two types of people in the world: those who are generally mentally energized after being around people and those who are generally mentally exhausted after being around people. Which are you?

Energized.  Aka, extrovert.  I will wilt like a flower if left alone too long.  I'm a "talks to strangers" type of gal.  My husband, total opposite.

Enjoy!!  Please feel free to re--post with your own answers on your blog!!

Friday, March 9, 2012

Confession.

There was a bucket (a literal bucket) of candy at work today.  A lot of it was Reeses PB cups.  The minis.  How can I resist!  I ate a bunch at work, and being the sweet, thoughtful wife that I am, grabbed a handful (like, 8!)on my way out the door for John.

Well it's 3:47 and they're gone :(

I had to tell someone.  

And I'm pretty sure he doesn't read my blog...

Thursday, March 8, 2012

Just an update

I am 34 weeks now, I have been absolutely terrible about taking pictures this time around :(  I think it's mental, I mean, you really don't want to remember your body like this.  Also, the laziness factor!!  Once my rear hits the couch, it takes a mighty powerful urge to move it!!

I have had way more braxton hicks contractions this time around and for some reason I think she might be coming a little early.  Not sure why.  I was also sure she was a boy though, so who knows about "mother's intuition"!!!

I've started weekly Non Stress Tests, just a 30-60 min appointment where they hook me up to the monitors and have me note when I feel movements.  I kind of like them because I just lay down by myself in a quiet room and feel my sweet baby girl.

I  have about 2-3 more weeks of shots left, yipeeee!!  In the meantime, I'll leave you with this near-professional photograph, there was so much going on in this picture...

My Dream Day...

Some of you may know, I am a part time stay at home mom (SAHM) and a part time technical designer at Dillards.  I love having one foot in each world!  2 days a week during the school year I take care of another little boy who is 9 months younger than Will.  They are such good buddies, but typical of kids their age, they bicker a LOT!

Mostly harmless stuff:

"Mine!"

"I had it first!"

"NOOOOO!"

Most days when I've had both, I just collapse after 8:00 pm (bedtime!)...I feel so exhausted!

Yesterday was different, it was "my dream day" as a SAHM!  Let me give you a rundown:

7:00 Will wakes up

7:45 Pman arrives

8:00 Breakfast

8:15-12:00 Blissful playtime filled with things like chasing balloons around, playing cars, watching minimal tv, eating snacks...almost zero fighting.  Oh, and I managed to get 4 loads of laundry done in this time!  FOUR!!

12-1: Nutritious happy lunch (no food throwing, no tears, both plates cleaned...)

1-3:30: NAPS!!  In this time, I cleaned and organized the entire toy room, folded all FOUR loads of laundry, did ALL the dishes and started dinner.

3:30-4:30 More fun playing!  Snacks, much more balloon chasing, hugs, giggles and laughter...I was in heaven!

It's so nice to have days like that when you don't feel totally spent at the end.  I felt like supermom :)  It was great.