Yes, I am currently hiding from a 1 year old. Well, not hiding in the traditional sense. But if you've even put a toddler down to nap, and they give you "the sign" that the nap just may not happen, you do everything in your power to Make. It. Happen.
Now I'll take most of the blame, the toddler in question is quite possible the easiest child I have ever taken care of. So no, I'm not talking about Will, ha!!
We had to run an unexpected errand at 12:40....daaaangerously close to naptime. So of course, he fell asleep in the car. I knew that I was losing control of the day.
I got him home, got him and Will upstairs (still sleeping), got his paci and other naptime essentials out, (still sleeping), got his fan and white noise on (still sleeping) and laid him gently in bed (AWAKE!!!!).
I patted his tummy and told him night night and slipped out.
Got Will to bed, easy, he doesn't sleep in the car anymore.
After about 25 min, I decide it's safe to slip into my bedroom where P was sleeping to get my hairdryer and some other tools, I have a dr appt at 3:00.
Nope.
Totally clued him in on the idea that I was indeed awake and probably playing with toys while he was a sucker in bed...sigh...
Now you get to the tricky part. You tell them night night again, b/c you, being the rational adult know that they need a good nap to be a happy kid later on. But now you are trapped by not peeking in the room anymore for fear they'll see you and you'll ruin nap for good!
It's quiet now. But much too late to wash my hair. So....here I am on the couch. I just went outside and shook baby powder into my hair to de-grease it. I smell like a Johnson & Johnson factory is all.
Oh the power they have over us. Who knows, he's probably in there dreaming right now. But I'm not checking!!! All I know is that I hear...nothing!!


